Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

Larenne0987

Posted Mon Dec 3rd, 2012 8:55pm Post subject: Angst/ A letter to Stephen Fry

Dear Stephen Fry,

I am writing to you because of how many twinkles you’ve caused in the eyes of people around the world. I too want to become a mass twinkle creator.
I am a 20 year old Canadian young lady, currently dancing with a professional ballet company. I trained at a professional ballet academy, and boarded there since I was 12. While I was a student, I had this ballet teacher named Vera Timashova- one of the most inspiring, and passionate people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. One of my favourite compliments I ever got from her was when she talked about my shining eyes. She said ‘I see you listening to music, feeling it in your body, eyes shining.’ I saw her eyes well up as she said this to me, and then she started taking me through one of her favourite roles. I watched her intently as she marked through the entire first act of Giselle, playing multiple characters, and explaining her artistic intent at each moment. She was like a child playing an imaginary game in her bedroom, totally uninhibited, bounding around the studio. I was beguiled that my gangly, clumsy, yet passionate 14 year old dancing awakened her artistry, and was inspired by how it spilled out of her. Ever so naturally, we had this beautiful connection. It was spiritual. That’s the only way I can think to describe it.
This spiritual, eye-twinkly feeling is the feeling I live for. It took me a restless teenage-hood of depression and angst to figure this out, but now I feel I can live with more of a direction. I can live my life with the intent of passion as oppose to… I don’t know, acquiring a status or filling my house with people and things that don’t have much meaning to me.