Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

JVONEARTH

Posted Sun Apr 1st, 2007 12:52pm Post subject: Computer help
Can someone help me please.
I want to buy a new laptop nothing expensive but it needs to do the job.
internet, loading pictures, letters etc etc.
I don't understand ram, mb, gb and all that and i just thought someone may be able to help me out.

Thankyou......................John

Fourth Feline

Posted Sun Apr 1st, 2007 1:20pm Post subject: Computer help
Hi John,

If your needs are as ( relatively ) basic as they sound, and you will not be needing it to record guitar/voice as part of a ' Home Studio ' on it, BUT do want to make the best use of increased internet speeds and it to be quite swift to obey your commands and download etc, I recommend that :

The RAM be no less than 512 MB

The hard disk be 30GB or larger (most are anyway )

The CPU be 1.8 GHz or preferably higher.

I have been using a DELL for the last three years, as an IBM employee informed me that they are basically IBM clones at a greatly reduced price. Compare their website to that of your local 'P.C.World' shop for price comparisons.

A laptop will be more expensive for the same specifications than a desktop.

Further questions welcomed

Bye (for now )

Derek.

JVONEARTH

Posted Sun Apr 1st, 2007 1:22pm Post subject: Computer help
Thanks Derek i'm on the pc world site now looking at the deals

Soupy Twist

Posted Sun Apr 1st, 2007 1:33pm Post subject: Computer help

The hard disk be 30MB or larger (most are anyway )
You meant GB, didn't you?

Given that Windows XP as well als Vista need a lot of memory, I wouldn't choose anything fewer than 1 GB Ram.

Fourth Feline

Posted Sun Apr 1st, 2007 1:51pm Post subject: Computer help
My mistake , I did mean to write "at least 30GB" - not MB.