Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

ShaylaMorris

Posted Tue May 13th, 2008 6:11am Post subject: Good News and Bad News
Well as the title says I have good news and bad news so lets start with the good. As most of you have noticed I and many other students have not been around. It’s not, for me at lease, that I have become board with you all quite the contrary. I have missed you all so much but as most of you know I’ve been studying my hiney off to get an invitation to come and study in London during my fall quarter of 2008. Well not only did I get the invitation but my gpa (Grade Point Average) put me in the top 6% of Whatcom College which got me in to Phi Theta Kappa a Honor Society for academic achievement. I’m also a student government official and by the looks of things I will be next term too. So I should be happy with my 3.825, getting my passport, and packing a bag right?

This bring me to the bad news I won’t be coming to London. In order to go I needed to be awarded two scholarships to afford the program and when I turned in the paperwork everything looked good. However today I got a Dear Jane, or should it be Dear Shayla, that I won’t get the scholarship due to my declared major of Music and minor of human development. I had check with my bank to see if I could get a loan but because it’s for education out of the country it wouldn’t be cleared. Yes I feel a little down but I look at it this way I’m still waiting for word from the other scholarship committee and who knows my grant could go up. I just ask that people please cross fingers for me and if you pray please put me in after the people in Burma, China, and others that is in more need than I. I hope to be back on and in full swing soon. Love and miss you all.

Shayla

Anonymous

Unregistered

Posted Tue May 13th, 2008 6:33pm Post subject: Good News and Bad News
i'm sorry to hear that Shayla!

what is it about the music major that makes you less scholarship worthy? did they explain?