Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

Sana

Posted Thu Apr 5th, 2007 1:30am Post subject: Hello! I'm a manic-depressive in Tokyo
Hi people,

This is my first time I've posted a topic on the Forum.
Someone kindly gave me a DVD copy of " The Secret Life of the Manic Depressive " before he left Japan for his country.
I'd been wanting to watch it for months, and after watching it I thought about how people with manic depression or depression are discriminated in Japan.
I suffer from manic depression too, but a mild one. I've been on medication for about four years now, but I only take an anti-depressant and two tranquilisers because I'm allergic to most kinds of anti-depressants. I don't take lithium either.
I'm a fan of Mr Fry and I'm so glad that he speaks out about his illness and tries to help others with the similar problems. Whether bipolar or not, I love Mr Fry very much!

Crazy_in_a_box

Posted Thu Apr 5th, 2007 2:31am Post subject: Hello! I'm a manic-depressive in Tokyo
Hi Sana, Welcome!

how people with manic depression or depression are discriminated in Japan.

I have to ask, in what way are they discriminated? Is it the same as over here? It would be interesting to hear from the perspective of another nation and culture....

In fact, if anyone from a different country could talk about how it differs in their country join in too!

Sana

Posted Thu Apr 5th, 2007 3:21am Post subject: Hello! I'm a manic-depressive in Tokyo
Hi Crazy_in_a_box!

Thank you so much for your message! X-D

Well, in Japan, many people still think that brain illnesses like manic-depression, depression, or schizophrania are " special" illnesses which happen only to " special " people. Here " special " means " not normal " or even " insane ".... :'(

In Japan it's quite difficult to get a job if you're bipolar or depressive. I've been unemployed myself for more than two years, partly because I felt so depressed when my mum died of metastatic ovarian cancer two years ago.