Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

Lauz

Posted Sat Aug 30th, 2008 6:56pm Post subject: I need some gift help
Hi all!

My friend is off to university this coming October and it's her birthday on Saturday. We have a tradition of getting each other gifts that are half a joke but can also be useful. Seeing as she is going to uni i was hoping to put together a small university survival kit. Since i have no experience with uni i was hoping if you guys could give me some ideas for things to include.

Thanks in advance.

Soupy Twist

Posted Sat Aug 30th, 2008 7:23pm Post subject: I need some gift help
nice idea!
you could include bog standard school stuff like pencils, pens, rubber, pencil sharpener, ruler etc. Then maybe cereal bars, a can of Red Bull, beer, canned soup, chocolate, pasta. In Germany we call a trail mix "student's food" (Studentenfutter), so this might be a good idea, too. I'd also include something personal, maybe a photo or something like that. Rumour has it that students are especially fond of partying, that's why you could also give her a few aspirin to nurse her hangovers.

TobiasMonk

Posted Sat Aug 30th, 2008 7:32pm Post subject: I need some gift help
Yup, Red Bull and condoms

I cannot be awake for nothing looks to me as it did before, Or else I am awake for the first time, and all before has been a mean sleep.
Walt Whitman

Soupy Twist

Posted Sat Aug 30th, 2008 7:53pm Post subject: I need some gift help

ClareBear

Posted Sat Aug 30th, 2008 8:08pm Post subject: I need some gift help
Don't forget the Pro Plus!

amyl_nitrate

Posted Sun Aug 31st, 2008 1:56pm Post subject: I need some gift help
You could give her something to put up on her wall to brighten the place up a bit. Rooms in student halls can be a bit dull looking and need to be personalised a bit. You could get her something special and meaningful or personalised or something funny.

Assuming direct control...

Lauz