Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

Nitro

Posted Tue Jun 30th, 2009 8:05pm Post subject: iPhone in USA
After reading this:

http://www.theiphoneblog.com/2009/06/08/att-respon.....tethering/

I've rethought my earlier desire to purchase an iPhone. I agree with these folks. No MMS when it's been around for freaking ever on cell phones? WTF?!

Plus, the only carrier here for iPhone is AT&T. I have some past experience with them and, based on the comments on the above blog, I can see that nothing's changed in terms of how awful they are to their customers. Getting locked into a contract with them is like having to listen to Barry Manilow songs 24/7 ( aka "Hell" X-D)

Maybe if a competing carrier steps in I will consider an iPhone. It's really disappointing. :'(

Really? Wow.

PamJH

Posted Tue Jun 30th, 2009 9:09pm Post subject: iPhone in USA
Does iPhone have some exclusive deal with AT&T? Seems I heard that somewhere. I'll have to look at your link when I have a minute.

gjhsu

Posted Tue Jun 30th, 2009 9:12pm Post subject: iPhone in USA
Does iPhone have some exclusive deal with AT&T? Seems I heard that somewhere. I'll have to look at your link when I have a minute.

Yes, for now, the iPhone is natively tied to AT&T, though you can always jailbreak them and use them on other carriers on the same frequency. I know quite a few people who have freed theirs from the shackles of American Telephone and Telegraph.

Nitro

Posted Wed Jul 1st, 2009 3:59pm Post subject: iPhone in USA
Yes, people do jailbreak them and most don't care that it voids the phones warranty beause they are master engineers who can repair it themselves after they've dropped it into the pool or ocean by mistake. X-D

Most of the comm companies suck donkey doo in some way, IMNSHO, but I think AT&T are especially beligerent about farking their customers over.

Really? Wow.

gjhsu

Posted Wed Jul 1st, 2009 4:16pm Post subject: iPhone in USA