Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

debritz

Posted Sun Jan 18th, 2009 12:28pm Post subject: Our unique language
I confess to being a pedant about our language, especially when it comes to the use of the correct word. To disobey the rules is to diminish the language and to create a barrier to effective and clear communication. One example: the misuse of the word "unique". To use "unique" when you merely mean "rare" is to rob the language of a unique word with a unique meaning. Similarly, it annoys me when people use "refute" when they mean "deny". They are not interchangeable.
P.S. Given "Muphry's Law" (and I mean Muphry not Murphy), I've probably committed some heinous language crime in the above.

PamJH

Posted Wed Jan 21st, 2009 8:44pm Post subject: Our unique language
I have to agree with a lot of what you said. I find it difficult to turn off the editor when I read my emails, bills, billboards, store signs and the like. I've been a copy editor for years so I blame my profession for my pendantry. I do believe language has to evolve as we discover more and more about our world, but I do agree rules should be followed as much as possible, just so we're all starting from the same place.

The wittiest, most informative and heartfelt communications I have ever received have been those from writers who took the time to choose the right words and phrases to say precisely what they mean. These communications didn't necessarily contain 4-syllable words or multiple clauses, either. They were simply well-written.

But many people won't agree, and that's fine. I guess. And I'm sure I've made some sort of error in the previous statements, so please forgive me if you find it.
Pam

joan

Posted Thu Jan 22nd, 2009 5:44am Post subject: Our unique language