Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

aSyd

Posted Tue Nov 8th, 2011 8:28pm Post subject: Planet Word: Literature: Ulysses!

This is my first time here... Hi everyone!

I was moved to seek out some way to communicate with Stephen because of his love of Ulysses, his comments on and delightful evocation of Joyce's wonderful novel. I wanted to share with him how moving I found Molly's soliloquy, coming as it does after the completed day we have spent with Leo and the young Stephen Dedalus, a tenderising process that pummels the meat of the mind with Joyce's mellifluous little hammers of phrase and chat and rumination until our humanity is thoroughly prepared for the full immersion in Molly's mind. I was surprised as I put the novel down at the finish to find that tears were starting in my eyes, and a rare glow of completion and fulfilment was rising gently through my quiet mind... Joyce had not merely written a clever tour de force of modernism, but a true work of artistic and humanistic genius, after all! A Real Novel, rewarding to the heart, not just to the mind!

To be honest, I had not expected that reward... I had been reading for the pleasure of language, but after Molly's crowning section, the true majesty of Joyce's vision was revealed to me as a blossoming of the heart... Bloom! The clue was there all along as to what he was attempting! Joyce had meant for this to happen, and the entire thing was crafted with that blossoming of our humanity in mind... My gratitude was quietly, thoughtfully, gently lifted from my inner self with no effort at all... Mr Joyce, a treasure, I salute the man.