Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

leedoyle

Posted Fri May 30th, 2008 10:38am Post subject: Poems and me (Question for all)
Hi, this is a help question so if I have posted in the wrong section I am very sorry (Please move me)

I have been writing poetry for around 9 months now due to some bad situations in my life. I had never written anything before this but for some unknown reason it just felt right.

I have just got my hands on Stephen Frys book The Ode Less Travelled: unlocking the Poet Within and started to worry.

The reason I started to worry is I have never read any poetry apart from a few that I have read on some blogs... I would like to know if anyone has any tips on some books to read and who I should look for.

Right now I am depressed due to the events in my life... I would like to find some poems which are written from the same points of view.

My English (Writing and spelling) is very poor. But I am trying not to let this hold me back.

Any help would be great.

fryfan20

Posted Fri May 30th, 2008 10:46am Post subject: Poems and me (Question for all)
hi leedoyle,

i don't think you have to worry because you never have read any poetry, if it feels right for you than it is right.

i'm afraid that i can't help on the matter of any books, i have not read any :-//

i'm sorry that you feel bad and hope that you will be better soon

I am what I am

leedoyle

Posted Fri May 30th, 2008 10:49am Post subject: Poems and me (Question for all)
Hi FryFan20,

I have to admit Poetry is what has got me through this whole thing. It has been my medication and it has made me understand so much.

I know most of what I have ever read is my own work... And even reading that answers many of my own questions about life... which is very strange.

I hope someone can help me with some book as I really cant wait to start reading.

Terhen

Posted Fri May 30th, 2008 1:33pm Post subject: Poems and me (Question for all)
Hello leedoyle!