Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

inverted_dan

Posted Mon Jul 20th, 2009 12:54pm Post subject: Really Short Stories... about 4 or 5 minutes reading...
Hello there folks, I love little stories, things that can be told to somebody from memory without having to practice or rehearse if you know what I mean, I have been writing my own for a few months now and I have put them on my little site http://www.invertedhourglass.com but i don't want to sound like i am just trying to send you all there so I will post my favourite little story here for you to judge an criticise accordingly.
Hopefully in return you will have your own to share or recommend... oh yeah i have also recorded these as a podcast, you will find the links at my site...

anyway introducing....

Flatline Paradise
By Daniel .M. Brown

At the age of thirty-six Gemma had always been hoping that her life would change, it was always a struggle for her to get out of bed in the mornings knowing the days would go on in the same way they had done for so many years. After all what could she do to change things? That is what she had thought until one day at least, what could she do? Then she realised.
Now, she found herself in what could easily have been mistaken for paradise, she was surrounded by fields, and a cloudless sky, but the sun did not dazzle, in fact the sun was nowhere to be seen. But who looks at the sun anyway? Small children curious as to why their teacher tells them not to look at it, that’s who looks, and they soon gain their answer as well. Gemma continued on her little walk, wondering where on earth she might end up.