Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

Joede

Posted Thu Jul 26th, 2012 8:55am Post subject: Suffering

I’ve been nursing for more than 30 years and for over a decade have worked in palliative care. Throughout my career there have been encounters with health professionals whose religious beliefs clearly affect their attitude to medical intervention and symptom relief. This has been apparent across many healthcare genres, from obstetrics and neonatology to disability and aged care.

It seems that the belief in a creator or supernatural force who is responsible for the giving and taking of life, and also the belief that suffering can be a positive experience, influence whether the staff member is motivated to consider the patient’s quality of life, or contrastingly promote ‘life at any cost’.

Doctors, nurses, allied health professionals and politicians (for example the Australian politician Kevin Andrews and his Medical Treatment Act 1988. Please refer to discussion in this link: http://www.mercyhealth.com.au/WorkArea/DownloadAsset.aspx?id=3565 ) who are under the influence of a religious doctrine have surely contributed to many people living lives fraught with pain, or existing at a level incompatible with their ability to enjoy life.

It is distressing when a death-denying philosophy results in individuals being subjected to unnecessary treatment, or sub-optimal palliative care is imposed due to doctors and nurses who are tentative in administering appropriate medications. Empirically there seems a predominance of roman catholics involved in palliative care.

Countless people throughout the world are undoubtingly suffering due to the influence of religious doctrines.

Is it possible that this topic could be considered for public debate?

Thank you.

LilithLeVay

Posted Mon Nov 19th, 2012 7:35am Post subject: Suffering

Hello Joede