Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

Nitro

Posted Wed Dec 16th, 2009 2:51pm Post subject: The new Sherlock Holmes

I think Downey is a fantastic actor. Let me put that out there straight out of the gate so there's no confusion.

But...It strikes me as very odd, not 'wrong' so much as just...confusing...why an American was chosen for the lead role of Sherlock and an Englishman the sidekick, Watson? ( not undervaluing Watson's role either so please don't accuse of it ).

It just doesn't make sense to me other than for business reasons alone. I can't be convinced there isn't a hungry, young actor in England more than capable of having played this part at least as well. So the only answer I can come up with is 'the bottom line', not artistic credibility of any kind. "Show me the money..."

I also don't get the whole 'Fight Club' vibe from some of the trailors. But I'm not a Sherlock expert either.

If anyone sees it let us know what you thought.

Me, I'm going to see Avatar...

Really? Wow.

tito

Member *

Posted Wed Dec 16th, 2009 6:14pm Post subject: The new Sherlock Holmes

I've always been a big fan of old Sherley. The best Sherl ever was Jeremy Brett in a TV series we had over here a few years ago.

I don't really mind Downey playing him as long as he does it well.

J Brett as S Holmes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RNqQyg9S9mk

speckledband

Posted Thu Dec 17th, 2009 4:11pm Post subject: The new Sherlock Holmes

Might very well see it out of curiosity but you know i love Jeremy Bretts Holmes to death so we will have to see! Plus i didn't like any of Guy Richies films when i was forced to watch them years ago by my older brother.

marzgirl

Posted Wed Dec 23rd, 2009 7:12pm Post subject: The new Sherlock Holmes