Topic RSS | Reply to topic
Author Post

amberzak

Posted Tue Oct 21st, 2008 11:58pm Post subject: Trying to get University to put Stephen Fry book on reading
I am studying a degree in English and Creative Writing. As I have said on here in the past, Stephen Fry has helped me so much in my degree with his books and documentries, but he did it again.

The Ode Less Travelled. What an inspiration to aspiring poets. We are looking at poetry at the moment, and that includes the Villenelles, Sonnets, and all other forms, as well as understanding metre and pretty much everything in his book.

I have, begrudgingly, lent my copy of the book to my teacher, in the hopes that he puts it in the suggested reading list next year, because it ismy belief that anyone studying poetry, whether to write it or to analyse it, should read this book. It tells you all about the different forms. (And Stephen's own poetry in the book is an interesting read too). Plus this book is written with Stephens usual humour and charm, so it isn't a bring stuffy text.

WhyGenTom

Posted Wed Oct 22nd, 2008 7:34am Post subject: Trying to get University to put Stephen Fry book on reading
I am studying a degree in English and Creative Writing. As I have said on here in the past, Stephen Fry has helped me so much in my degree with his books and documentries, but he did it again.

The Ode Less Travelled. What an inspiration to aspiring poets. We are looking at poetry at the moment, and that includes the Villenelles, Sonnets, and all other forms, as well as understanding metre and pretty much everything in his book.